Skip to main content

College of Public Service

Faculty & Staff Listing

NameOfficePhoneEmail​
Janice Ahmad​
 Ph.D. (Sam Houston)
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Women in Policing, Police Management Issues, and Crime Victims
C-340N(713) 221-8492 ahmadj@uhd.edu
Nina Barbieri
Ph.D. (University of Texas at Dallas)
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Juvenile justice, Crime and Delinquency, Criminology Theory, and Criminal Justice Policies
​C-330K​(713)226-5512barbierin@uhd.edu​
Barbara Belbot
 JD (Houston), Ph.D (Sam Houston)
Chair, Department of Criminal Justice and Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Criminal Law and Procedure, Rights of Offenders, and Correctional Policy
C-340G(713) 221-8983 belbotb@uhd.edu
Ashley Blackburn
 Ph.D. (Sam Houston)
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Offender Behavior and Correctional Policy, Rights of Crime Victims, Victimization among Special Populations, Research Methods for CJ
C-330M(713) 222-5326 blackburna@uhd.edu
Lori Brusman Lovins
Ph.D. (University of Cincinnati)
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice and Social Work
​C-330K​(713)221-2761​​brusmanlovinsl@uhd.edu
Kevin Buckler
Ph.D. (University of Cincinnati)
M.S. ( Eastern Kentucky University)
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Interests: Supreme Court Criminal Procedure Case Outcomes, Media Coverage of Criminal Justice Issues, and Public Opinion on Crime and Justice Issues
​C-330E​(713)221-2733​​bucklerk@uhd.edu
Michael R. Cavanaugh
 Ph.D. (Sam Houston)
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Public Policy, School Searches, Section 1983, and Criminal Law
C-340R (713) 226-5578 cavanaughm@uhd.edu
Shannon Fowler​
 Ph.D. (Sam Houston)
Associate Chair and Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Victimology, Violent Victimization, and Criminological Theory
C-340J(713) 223-7996 fowlers@uhd.edu
Krista S. Gehring
Ph.D. (Cincinnati)
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Women offenders; Gender-Responsive Programs, Policies, and Practices; Corrections and Correctional Rehabilitation; Risk Assessment and Classification; and Criminological Theory.
C-340K(713) 221-8483 gehringk@uhd.edu
Judith Harris​
 Ph.D. (Texas Southern)
Assistant Professor
Interest: Similarities and Differences of Prisoner Reentry Between England and America, Women on Death Row, Criminalization & Marginalization of Homeless in Urban Areas, and Institutionalization of Inmates.
C-330E(713) 221-8274 harrisjud@uhd.edu
Richard Hill​
 M.S. (Eastern Kentucky)
Lecturer of Criminal Justice
Interest: Organized Crime, Corporate Security, Organizational Management, and Criminal Investigations
UHD Northwest 352(713) 237-5411 hillr@uhd.edu
Stephanie Karas
ABD (Sam Houston)
M.A. (Boise State)
Interests: Media, Law/Policy, Policing
​C-330B​N/A​​karass@uhd.edu
Larry Karson
Ph.D. (Wales)
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Management and Policing, Ethics, Enforcement History, and Smuggling in America
C-330P(713) 221-8931 karsonL@uhd.edu
Mary E. (Beth) Pelz, Ph.D. (Sam Houston)
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Gangs, Inmate Social Control, Community-Based Corrections, Institutional Corrections, Juvenile Justice and Delinquency, and Court Management
C.400C(713) 221-8575 pelzb@uhd.edu
Rebecca Pfeffer
 Ph.D. (Northeastern University)
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Victimology, victimization of special populations, human trafficking, and crime prevention.
C-330F(713) 221-5072 pfefferr@uhd.edu
Clete Snell
 Ph.D. (Sam Houston)
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Interest: Juvenile Delinquency Theory, Juvenile Justice Policy, Youth Tobacco Laws and Programming, and Mental Health Issues in Criminal Justice
C-340G(713) 226-5271 snellc@uhd.edu
Valcore, Jace
Ph.D. (University of Colorado Denver)
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice Interest: My primary areas of interest include criminal and social justice policies and policy making, most specifically in areas related to inequality, gender and/or sexual orientation.​
​C-330J​(713) 221-8133valcorel@uhd.edu
Hsiao-Ming Wang​
 Ph.D. (Sam Houston)
Professor in Criminal Justice and Bayou Connection Program Director
Interest: International Issues in Criminal Justice, Statistics, Research Methods, White Collar Crime, and Security Management
C-340H(713) 221-8691 wangh@uhd.edu

Adjunct Faculty

The office for adjunct faculty is C.330Q.

Telephone messages for any adjunct instructor may be left at (713) 221-5326 or 8943.

Department of Criminal Justice

1002 Commerce Street, Suite C.340
Houston, Texas 77002
Phone: (713) 221-8943
Fax: (713) 223-7409

​​

College of Public Service Webmaster
Last updated 7/13/2017 10:43 AM