Skip to main content

CHSS Departments

University of Houston-Downtown's College of Humanities and Social Sciences includes four departments:

Arts and Communication
Courses in art and art history, communication studies, drama, and dramatic history, music and music history.

History, Humanities, and Languages
Courses in history, humanities, philosophy, and foreign languages.

Courses in composition, creative writing, film studies, literature, professional writing, reading, linguistics, rhetoric and technical communication, and American Studies.

Social Sciences
Courses in health and behavioral science, political science, psychology, sociology, and social science.