Skip to main content

UHD Faculty Senate Home

  • UHS-UFEC Event

    Take Us Higher! was a University of Houston-System-Wide, Universities Faculty Executive Committee (UFEC) Event hosted by the UHD Faculty Senate. Faculty from all sister institutions were encouraged to invite their classes to attend.The event featured guest speaker, Dr. Sylvia Hurtado.

  • Aiming Higher - Emerging Solutions

    Dr. Sylvia Hurtado spoke on the future of graduate education, diversity in enrollment, what happens in graduate programs, emerging solutions, strategies, and resources; and aiming higher with student support, faculty development, and research goals.

  • The Call To Action

    Take Us Higher! was well received, and well attended with eager collaborators and engaged learners. This is a first- of-a-kind conference to be hosted by the UHD Faculty Senate, and UHD expects to host more in the near future. Guests also enjoyed continental breakfast.

  • Faculty Senate Hosts Awards Ceremony

    Dr. Carolyn Ashe, President of the UHD Faculty Senate, takes the podium. The Faculty Senate Awards Committee chooses the winners of faculty awards. Committee membership consists of one member from each department, with the previous year's winners serving on the committee as representatives from their respective departments.

  • President Juan Sánchez Muñoz Speaks at the 2017 Faculty Awards Ceremony

    The teaching awards ceremony has been an annual tradition at UHD since 1982. Individual faculty are recognized for excellence in teaching, scholarship and creative activity, years of service, outstanding adjunct and lecturer, and faculty mentorship​.

  • 2017 Faculty Award Recipients

    (from left to right): Maria Bhattacharjee, Abigail Koenig, Angela Goins , Charles Pelz, Ryan Pepper, Hank Roubicek, Bridget Mueller, Adriana Visbal, Eszter Trufan, Dalia Sherif , Floyd Newsum, Judtih Harris, Michael Tobin, and Ashley Blackburn

  • Service Awards

    Awardees received crystal and acrylic, laser engraved trophies, walnut and black, Florentine-gold-engraved wooden plaques, and die cast zinc medallion ribbons. More than 100 awards have been awarded to recipients since 1982.

  • Open House

    The 2016-2017 Faculty Senate recently celebrated Open House, on April 25, 2017, featuring its new office located on the 6th Floor of the One Main Building, in Suite South 630. The office suite is comprised of the Office of the Faculty Senate President, the office of the Faculty Senate Administrative Assistant, Darlene Hodge, and a small reception area. Also, on display is a wall of various faculty senate founding documents, as well as the first senate constitution, and a fact sheet poster revisiting the University of Houston Downtown College (UH/DC), from 1974 to 1983.


Be a part of the UHD facult​y community.

Join us at a meeting!

T​​he UHD Faculty Senate meets from 2:30PM to 4:00PM every first and third Tuesday during the Fall and Spring Semesters.

Our meeting ro​om is A-300.

         Calendar of Events


Current UHD Faculty Senate Officers

President: Trevor Hale
Secretary-Treasurer:  Sandra Dahlberg

Carolyn Ashe
President Elect:  Hsaio-Ming Wang

  • Contact Us

    Office of the Faculty Senate
    Main Building
    One Main Street, Suite S630
    Houston, TX 77002

    Phone: 713-221-8018


Faculty Senate
Last updated 9/19/2017 7:12 AM