## **UHD Faculty Senate Minutes**

Meeting: 4/4/23
Hybrid meeting (UHD and Zoom)
Minutes recorded by: Dr. Candace TenBrink

Guest and senator roster are at the end.

Meeting opened at 2:30 p.m.

Meeting minutes from March 21, 2023: approved.

### Dr. Gehring

- She suggested that we do not record today this was approved by faculty senate.
- Faculty awards, our next senate meeting, will occur on April 18<sup>th</sup> and it will be in person only. No Zoom.
- Dr. Gehring will share notes from the ESO review in the near future.
- The climate survey was sent; please fill it out.
- Please encourage individuals to engage in service.
- Hybrid senate format- We entered the hybrid format as a result of covid and now she suggests that we should consider going back to face to face.

2 voted to go back to in person and then the floor opened to discuss the matter.

FS were concerned about inclusivity and the ability of others (e.g., staff or administrators) to join easily. There was much discussion about the pros and cons (childcare, duty of care, efficiency, responsibility to come to campus, visitors).

There are many points to consider and as a result of the strong feelings on both sides, faculty senate decided to table the discussion for a few weeks as we consider our viewpoints and those of others.

# Gehring- regarding her recent discussion with the head of the Texas Assoc. of College Teachers

Comments from her discussion with him:

- The state bills are concerning, but faculty are mobilizing quickly. He thinks the biggest opportunity to make an impact is in the house.
- Senate bill (SB) 16 bans teaching CRT and is likely to pass in senate but may be stopped in house.
- SB 17 DEI will likely pass through senate and has more support in the house than SB 18.
- SB 18 regarding tenure this will likely drive many faculty out of the state if it moves forward.

What can you do? Use your personal devices, NOT university property as it is against the law, and discuss your views with your legislators. Identify as yourself and not as a representative of the University. Also, do not use your UHD email account.

Guest- are we hurting faculty senate? If not, maybe we need to consider various formats. Some faculty do not participate even when they are here.

FS – watch the language as some state legislators take words as a challenge.

FS – we should do something together to advocate for faculty.

Guest- there is a lot of concern. At what point will there be a red line that we will not cross. We cannot use University resources to lobby. Where is the red line? When will administrators step up? I think we should push that.

FS- Let us say SB 18 is approved, like in Florida, someone has to be prepared to help our junior faculty in case this bill is passed. We need to be able to help our colleagues.

FS- what about scholarships and grants? Some that are DEI centric may be unavailable to us now. The institution needs to address this.

FS- I am concerned that the system will not step up and protect us. We all need to be protected. We need academic freedom. Our institution needs a plan in place to protect us. Guest- what about contracts for those that have been trying to earn tenure, what will happen to them?

FS- maybe we can give untenured faculty long term contracts.

FS- what has the leadership done?

Provost- you are right, we cannot lobby but we can work with others. It is not that we are doing nothing, we are using the tools we can, such as government relations. We are meeting and discussing this; work is being done. I encourage you as private individuals to share your thoughts – but do not use university resources. Whatever information that I can share, I will with this body.

FS- SB17 does not specifically say that we cannot engage in DEI work.

Guest- we need a contingency for faculty that are not yet tenured.

FS- for SB17 there will be a public hearing this Thursday. If you do go, speak as a private citizen.

FS- we should understand the differences between advocacy and lobbying. Non-profits are allowed to advocate.

FS- maybe we will need to meet in the summer.

FS- the FS president can call a meeting in the summer without a vote.

Guest- This is an assault on the academy. This is an insult on a minority of faculty that have chosen to fight for this.

FS- we need to fight for tenure but there are also a lot of other scary things in SB17. Do not lose sight of the other items.

FS- we are looking at large scale issues. This is unbelievable. We need a plan, and we need to know what actions will be taken.

FS- getting rid of tenure will impact our economy and the state.

Gehring- yes, without innovative research we would harm the economy.

FS- in the hearings people said that 'stars' do not need tenure and others can have options.

FS- From the hearings—people did not understand why non-tenured folks cannot do research.

FS- we need to educate people and I never received an answer. What are you doing to advocate for us (addressed to the provost)?

Provost- we met with various legislators to discuss items and we work with the system and our government relations liaison. The discussions began before the legislative session and have continued.

FS- Is there a strategic plan to deal with the session?

Provost- No, there is not a strategic plan. We have been open about our asks. And we may see more items coming from the system soon.

Faculty senate adjourned at 4:01 p.m.

FS = faculty senator

#### **Guests**:

Deborah Bordelon, Michelle Moosally, Judith Quander, Darlene Hodge, Jerry Johnson, Kristen Anderson, Jonathan Schwartz, Joe Sample, Christine Stempinski, Juliana Lund, Tammis Thomas, Courtney Baugh, Laura Parker, Anthony Foster, Chakrika Veeramootho, Windy Lawrence, Anita Raychawdhuri, Stalina Villarreal, Joanna Schmertz, Ashleigh Petts, Michael Dimmick, Cory Angert, Kara Winkler, Danya Serrano, Shuaifu Lin, Jillian Hill, Dagmar Scharold

## **Senators and Senate Leadership:**

x= present

Count	Senate Member	Pos/ Dept.	Apr 4
1	Krista Gehring President	President	х
2	Bernardo Pohl	President-elect	Х
3	Edmund Cueva	Past President	Х
4	Candace TenBrink	Secretary	Х
	CHSS		
5	Ayden Adler	A&C	Х
6	Carolyn Gascoigne	HHL	х
7	Katrina Rufino	SOS	Х
8	Natalia Matveeva	A&C	Х
9	Nell Sullivan	ENG	Х
10	Paul Fortunato	ENG	Х
11	Raquel Chiquillo	HHL	х
12	Stephanie Babb	SOS	х
13	Travis Crone	SOS	х
14	Luke Fedell*	CHSS	х
	CPS		
15	Diane Miller	UE	Х
16	Franklin Allaire	UE	х
17	Heather Goltz	CJSW	Х
18	Kevin Buckler*	CJSW	Х

	CST		
19	Adriana Visbal	NS	х
20	Gabriella Bowden	NS	х
21	Katherine Shoemaker*	M&S	х
22	Ling Xu	CSET	х
23	Youn-Sha Chan	M&S	х
24	Kulwant Singh	CST	х
	МОСОВ		
25	Arpita Shroff	ACCI	x
26	Austin DeJan	FNIS	х
27	Paul Fulbright	GMSC	х
28	Prakash Deo	FNIS	х
29	Scott Davis	GMSC	х
30	Don Holmes	ACCI	х
31	David Epstein	MGT	х

<sup>\*</sup>Faculty Senate Executive Committee Members