Best Practices for Securing Your Virtual Classroom
11 Things You Can Do Right Now to Secure Your Virtual Classroom
1. Update Your Zoom Application
It's important that you're running the most recent version of Zoom. This ensures that you have the most updated controls when hosting or joining a meeting. Zoom also includes many security fixes in these patches.
2. Allow Only Authenticated Users to Join Your Meetings
- No Authentication – all users are able to join your meeting regardless of if they are logged into a Zoom account or not
- Only Authenticated Users Can Join (Sign in with Zoom) – any user logged into a Zoom account can access your meetings – this does NOT have to be an UHD account
- Only Authenticated Users Can Join (UHD Domains Only) – only users logged into UHD accounts may access your meetings
3. Use Random Meeting ID’s and Random Passcodes for Each Class and Share Your Links Privately
Use an Automatically Generated Meeting ID: It’s best practice to generate a random meeting ID for your class, so it can’t be shared multiple times. This is the better alternative to using your Personal Meeting ID, which is not advised because it’s basically an ongoing meeting that’s always running.
Setting a Passcode: Your UHD password protects your account. Passcodes protect the classroom. Create a passcode and share with your students via school email so only those intended to join can access a virtual classroom. Using a randomly generated passcode improves this security.
Share Links Privately
Privately sharing the meeting with your students via UHD Gatormail or Blackboard is a good way to ensure the link isn't publicly available. Avoid sharing the link via social media sites or publicly available areas.
Meeting Security When Scheduling Via Outlook
If you add or create a Zoom meeting using Outlook, note that the calendar entry may include the meeting password. If your calendar is viewable by others, we recommend making the meeting entry private or editing the details to remove the password.
4. Ensure 'Join Before Host' is Turned Off
While scheduling a meeting, under Meeting Options, ensure that the 'Join Before Host' toggle is turned OFF. The 'Join Before Host' option can be convenient for allowing attendees to carry on with a meeting the host is not able to start. However, with this option enabled, the first attendee who joins the meeting will be made the host automatically with full control over the meeting. If you are scheduling a meeting where sensitive information will be discussed, we recommend leaving this option disabled.
5. Control Screen Sharing
NOTE: If you force a participant to stop sharing their web cam, they won't be able to share their web cam feed again until you click 'More' and 'Ask to Start Video'. However, if you force a participant to stop sharing their screen, they can re-share their screen immediately unless you deactivate participant sharing.
6. Enable the Waiting Room
- The “All Participants” will send everyone to the virtual waiting area, where you can admit them individually or all at once.
- “Guest Participants Only” allows known students to skip the Waiting Room and join but sends anyone not signed in/part of your school (depending on Authentication settings) into the virtual waiting area.
7. Lock Your Meeting Room
8. Lock Down the Chat
9. Remove a Participant
10. Mute All Participants
11. Share This Article