Skip to main content

Creating Portfolios

​Before you begin creating a portfolio, create an outline of the points to highlight in your portfolio. Make sure that each point has sufficient supporting material and is presented in a clear and concise manner.

You will use artifacts to add content to your personal portfolio. Artifacts link to items that are evidence of your work, knowledge, and skills. You can create artifacts before or during the portfolio creation process. If you have a good outline of what you want to accomplish, create artifacts before moving on to create the portfolio.

When your artifacts are ready, create a shell for the portfolio. This includes a name and description. Use the description for your own organizational needs. After creating the shell, build out the portfolio and add pages and content.

My Portfolios

The My Portfolios page is the launching point for viewing, creating, and reviewing portfolios. Access the My Portfolios page from the link provided by your instructor or from the global navigation menu at the top right of the page. Select Tools and click Portfolios.

a screenshot of the Portfolio Tools menu

Creating a portfolio includes the following steps:

     1. Create a portfolio
     2. Add pages and artifacts
     3. Design the appearance
     4. Share the portfolio
     5. Re-Sharing a portfolio

Create a Portfolio

     1. On the My Portfolios page, click Create Portfolio.

a screen shot of the Create Portfolio button circled in red

     2. Give your portfolio a Title and a Description.

     3. Make the Portfolio Available and then decide if you want comments to be private.

     4. Click Submit.

Note: The first time you create a portfolio, you have the option of taking a brief guided tour of the portfolio authoring canvas. If you choose to skip the tour, you can access it at any time by clicking the compass next to the help icon at the top of your screen.

a screenshot of the Launch Guide Me again option

Add Pages and Artifacts

     1. Customize your portfolio's header, footer and other elements.

     2. To do this, click the pencil next to each item.

     3. Click Save after customizing each element.

     4. Click Settings if you would like to change the settings' decisions made when creating the                portfolio, such as the portfolio title and description.

a screenshot of the Portfolio settings button circled in red

A portfolio consists of pages and sections. Use a page to provide structure to the portfolio. Each page must have at least one section. Use a section to provide structure to the page's content.

Click the plus icon at the top of the menu to add a new page. To delete pages, click the trash can icon to the right of a page.

To rearrange pages or sections, use the arrows to the left of the element you would like to move.

Note: Deleting a page also deletes all of the sections and content on that page. Artifacts associated with a section remain in the My Artifacts repository, and you can reuse them.

a screenshot of the edit portfolio menu with options circled in red

After creating your page you will want to add content and artifacts.

     5. Click Add Artifact to attach a file/artifact. There are three way to add an artifact:
          a. Click Add Personal Artifact to browser your computer
          b. Click Add from Course to select a document previously submitted to a course.
          c. Place a check in the box next to a previously added artifact and then click submit.

You can associate one or more artifacts with each section. Typically, you add artifacts to a section and use the content editor to reflect on those artifacts.

     6. Select Click here to add content to add freeform content using the content editor.

a screenshot of the add content option

Design the Appearance

The Preview and Customize option allows you to see how the portfolio will look, and make layout and color palette decisions that affect the final design of the portfolio.

     1. Click Preview and Customize to view your portfolio as others will see it.

a screenshot of the Preview and Customzie button circled in red

      2. Select Customize Style to choose a layout for your portfolio and a color scheme.

a screenshot of the Customize Style button circled in red

     3. Click Save and then Close when you are done.

a screenshot fo the Save and Close buttons circled in red

     4. When you have completed the creating of your portfolio click Done Editing.

a screenshot of the Done Editing button cirlced in red

Share a Portfolio

Once you are done creating/ editing your portfolio, you will need to Share your portfolio.

Note: When sharing a portfolio, please not that only a snapshot of the portfolio in its current state is shared. If you update your portfolio, you will need to Re-Share your portfolio.

     1. From the My Portfolios page, click More for the portfolio you would like to share.

     2. Select Share.

a screenshot of the Share option circled in red

     3. On the Share Portfolio page, point to Share a Snapshot with and select Users. (You may                also share your portfolio with the entire class, by selecting Courses in this step.)

a screenshot of the Share a Snapshot with menu with users pointed to in red

     4. Enter the username of the person you would like to share the portfolio with. Separate multiple          usernames with commas.

     5. If you are unsure of the username, you may click Browse to search for a user.

a screenshot of the Browse option circled in red

     6. If you would like to send an email notification informing the user that you have share the                  portfolio with him/her, select Send Email.

     7. Customize the message if you would like.

     8. Choose if you would like to send a copy to yourself and/or if you would like to hide the list of            recipients in the email.

     9. Click Submit when you are done.

a screenshot of the Submit button circled in red

     10. Once your portfolio is shared successfully, you will see the Success message at the top of              your screen and the date, time and recipient(s) of the share will appear in your Shared                      Snapshot list.

a screenshot of the Portfoli Shared confirmation timestamp and message pointed to by a red arrow

     11. To return to the My Portfolios page, Click My Portfolios at the top of the screen.

a screenshot of the My Portfolios button circled in red

Re-Sharing a Portfolio

Each time you share a portfolio with other users, you create a static snapshot of that portfolio at that point in time. What is shared is that static snapshot. If you make edits that you want to share, you need to share the portfolio again.

     1. From the My Portfolios page, click More for the portfolio you would like to share.

     2. Select Share.

a screenshot of the More menu with the Share option circled in red

      3. On the Share Portfolio page, remove the snapshot of your portfolio that was shared                         previously. To do this select the drop down menu to the right of the title of the shared                       snapshot and then select Remove this Snapshot.

a screenshot of the Remove this Snapshot option circled in red

Once the old snapshot has been removed, you will want to share the new snapshot.

     4. Click Share a Snapshot with and select Users.

a screenshot of the Share a Snapshot with menu with a red arrow pointing at Users

     5. Enter the username of the person you would like to share the portfolio with. Separate multiple          usernames with commas.

     6. If you are unsure of the username, you may click Browse to search for a user.

a screenshot of the Browse button circled in red

     7. If you would like to send an email notification informing the user that you have share the                  portfolio with him/her, select Send Email.

     8. Customize the message if you would like.

     9. Choose if you would like to send a copy to yourself and/or if you would like to hide the list of            recipients in the email.

     10. Click Submit when you are done.

a screenshot of the submit button circled in red

     11. Once your portfolio is shared successfully, you will see the Success message at the top of              your screen and the date, time and recipient(s) of the share will appear in your Shared                      Snapshot list.

a screenshot of the Portfolio shared success message and timestamp pointed to by a red arrow

If you have any questions or comments regarding the steps outlined in this document, please contact UHD Blackboard Support by calling (713) 221-2786, or by contacting the team.

Last updated 6/1/2020 4:34 AM