Skip to main content

BackUp DLO Agent

This page provides information about Veritas Desktop and Laptop Option (DLO Agent), and it addresses frequently asked questions.

What is Veritas Desktop and Laptop Option Desktop Agent or Veritas DLO Agent?

Veritas Desktop and Laptop Option Desktop Agent (Veritas DLO Agent) is a system designed to backup data in specific folders on individual faculty and staff PCs to a secure and private storage environment accessible to the user only. This tool is provided for users to recover deleted or corrupted files

         

IMPORTANT:  How do I know if my PC is being backed up?

First, verify that you see the "Veritas DLO Desktop Agent" icon (just like the icon in the yellow circle below) in the System Tray in the lower-right corner of your screen (next to the date/time). If exists, double-click on that icon. If your files are backed up, the message in the Status window should say "Your files are protected".

If you don't not see the icon as described above in the System Tray, or if the Status does not indicate that your files are protected, please contact the IT Service Desk, and we will have someone follow up with you to make sure DLO is installed and your files are being backed up.

 DLO-Icon.png

 


Veritas DLO FAQs

What is being backed up?

All files in the following folders under your own profile will be backed up with the exception of certain file types (see below): My Documents folder, Desktop folder, and bookmarks from Internet Explorer, Firefox and Chrome are all protected.

What is NOT being backed up?

All files that have the following file extensions/types will not be backed up: exe, iso, msi, mp3, mp4, avi, wma, tmp, vmdk, and vhd.

Will my Outlook personal e-mail folders (.PST) be Backed Up?

Yes, if the PST is connected to the Outlook Client (no matter the location, except for the DO_NOT_BACKUP folder) or stored in a protected folder.

Who has access to my backed up files?

Only you can access backed up files from your PC. If your PC crashes or the hard drive gets corrupted, you will have to login with your own credentials on another PC that has the "Veritas DLO Desktop Agent" running in order to restore your file(s).

How often are my files backed up?

Your files will be backed up in continuous mode/live as revisions happen to your file(s)

Where should I place files I do not want Backed Up?

If you do not want specific files or folders to be backed up, follow these steps:

  • Create a new folder called DO_NOT_BACKUP (case sensitive – must be capital letters) on your PC.
  • Move files and/or folders you do not want backed up to the DO_NOT_BACKUP folder.
  • The automatic backup system is configured to NOT backup the DO_NOT_BACKUP folder.

How can I restore a deleted file?

  • Double-click the "Veritas DLO Desktop Agent" icon in the System Tray (lower right corner of your screen).
  • Click on "Restore" option from the "Views" area on the left side of the open window.
  • Expand the "Backups on this computer (your PC name)" item listed by clicking on the "+" sign.
  • Navigate to the folder where the file you are trying to recover existed; example My Documents, Desktop.
  • Select the file* by checking the box to the left of the file name and/or right-click on the file name and choose Restore from the drop-down menu. Accept the defaults from the windows that appear.

After the restore is complete, choose OK. The file will be restored to its original location on your PC. *up to three (3) versions of the file will be displayed; you can pick any one to restore.

Why do I see multiple file names for the same file when I try to restore a deleted file?

The automatic backup system is configured to keep the last three revisions of the backed up files in case you accidently overwrite the same file with the wrong data.

If I log in on someone else's office PC on campus, will new files I create on that PC be backed up?

Yes, as long as the "Veritas DLO Desktop Agent" is installed on that PC. Only files created under your own profile will be backed up.

Is my data Encrypted?

Yes.

How long will my data be kept on the server?

As long as the data is still on your office PC, it will always be on the backup server. If you delete a file or a folder from your office PC, the backup of that file or folder will be kept on the backup server for 60 days and then it will be purged permanently.

Is this an archival system?

No, this is simply a backup of the existing files from your office PC.

Will files on my UHD laptop be backed up if I am connected on campus via UHD's wireless network?

If you are using a UHD issued laptop on UHD's wireless network and the laptop has the "Veritas DLO Desktop Agent" installed, your files will be backed up automatically.

Whom do I call for questions or problems?

For additional support, contact the IT Service Desk




Last updated 12/7/2020 5:21 PM