Skip to main content

Urban Education Advisory Board

Our Aim

Urban Education Advisory Board Members guide and improve existing and future
educational programs and partnerships in the greater Houston area. Board members
offer feedback and insight, generate new ideas, and collaborate to strengthen the

educational success of all the students we serve.​

Meet the Board


Miriam Acosta

Miriam Acosta

Assistant Principal, Bussey Elementary
Aldine ISD
macosta@aldineisd.org

Valerie Baza

Valerie Baza

Alumni
University of Houston-Downtown
valran220@gmail.com

Bio
Rebecca Brown

Rebecca Brown

Executive Director of Academics
Spring Branch ISD

Nathan Boughton

Nathan Boughton

Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources
Cleveland ISD
Nathan.boughton@clevelandisd.org

Bio
Karen Cossey

Karen Cossey

Recruiter
Spring Branch ISD

Julia Dimmitt

Julia Dimmitt

Chief Human Resources Officer
Houston ISD
jdimmitt@houstonisd.org

Katherine Gomez

Katherine Gomez

Assistant Principal
Grantha Middle School
Aldine ISD
kegomez@aldineisd.org

Patricia Grady

Patricia Grady

Teacher Induction Director
Alief ISD
patricia.grady@aliefisd.net

Tracee Grigsby

Tracee Grigsby

PD Director
Alief ISD
tracee.grigsby@aliefisd.net

Becky Hagan

Becky Hagan

Principal, Woodview ES
Spring Branch ISD

Karen Heeth

Karen Heeth

Executive Director of Talent
Spring Branch ISD
karen.heeth@springbranchisd.com

Katie Kavvanagh

Katie Kavanagh

Assistant Principal, Springwoods High School
Spring Branch ISD

Ash Kirk

Ash Kirk

Principal, Black Elementary
Aldine ISD
arkirk@aldineisd.org

Osvaldo Lopez

Osvaldo Lopez

PD2 Student
University of Houston-Downtown
lopez019@gator.uhd.edu

Angela Prado

Angela Prado

PD2 Student
University of Houston-Downtown
rprado.angela@gmail.com 

Yolanda Rodriguez

Yolanda Rodriguez

Interim Chief Academic Officer
Houston ISD
yrodrigu@houstonisd.org

Maria Silva

Maria Silvia

Assistant Superintendent, Curriculum & Instruction
Cleveland ISD
msilva@clevelandisd.org

Walter Stewart

Walter Stewart

Principal, Aldine High School
Aldine ISD
wstewart@aldineisd.org

Javier Villareal

Javier Villareal

Chief Human Resources Officer
Aldine ISD
jovillarreal@aldineisd.org

Dacora Walker

Dacora Walker

PD2 Student
University of Houston-Downtown
dacora_walker@yahoo.com

Last updated 5/18/2022 8:29 AM