Skip to main content

Alondra Julie Morillo

UHD Honors Student Awarded East Texas Historical Association’s McDonald Scholarship at Fall 2017 Meeting

History Major Alondra MorillonUniversity of Houston-Downtown History major Alondra Julie Morillon received the 2017 East Texas Historical Association’s Dr. Archie P. McDonald Scholarship in History during the Saturday Awards and Business Luncheon. ETHA Executive Director, Dr. M. Scott Sosebee, made the presentation at the Association’s annual Fall meeting, which was held this year from October 12 - 14 at Galveston’s Moody Gardens hotel.

The McDonald Scholarship recognizes outstanding graduate and undergraduate History majors enrolled full-time at East Texas colleges and universities, with an interest in Texas – especially East Texas – studies. Sosebee stated the scholarship is awarded annually since 2010 to honor the memory and work of Archie P. McDonald, who taught Texas history at Stephen F. Austin State University for nearly 50 years, was president of the Texas State Historical Association, and Executive Director of the Association and editor of its Journal for 37 years. “It was a spirited competition amongst the applications,” Sosebee said. “But,” he continued, Julie “did stand out as someone with true potential and who we felt would relish this award and go forward with her education.”

Morillon is an UHD sophomore in the Honors Program and is vice-president of the Garna Christian Chapter of the Walter Prescott Webb Historical Society at the university. She also presented her research paper, “The Tragedy of Railroad Laura: Mental Health and Old Age at the Turn of the Century” at the Association’s session “Dementia, Drag, and Death: Twentieth Century Texas Social History” Friday morning. In addition to UHD’s Webb Society advisors, Drs. Mari Nicholson and Gene Preuss, eleven Honors students attended the ETHA meeting. The students presented six papers in two sessions, visited with historians from across the state, and attended the awards luncheon. Dr. Nicholson received a grant from UHD’s High Impact Practices to fund the Honors students conference travel.

The ETHA, headquartered at Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches, was originally organized in 1927, but suspended meetings during the Great Depression. It was reformed in 1962. It publishes the East Texas Historical Journal biannually, and in addition to two annual meetings, it sponsors the New Deal Symposium, and other lecture series. It presents numerous awards for local historic preservation, publications, and other contributions to the history of East Texas.

Last updated 9/11/2020 5:37 AM