Skip navigation

Scholars Academy

Star Award

In December 2004, UHD Scholars Academy was awarded the Texas Higher Education Star Award, established by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) to recognize exemplary contributions toward closing the educational gaps that challenge the state. The Scholars Academy has received acknowledgement nationally as an exemplar for fostering academic success within an urban university environment.

Many thanks to Dr. Larry Spears, Dr. Suzette Mouchaty and Mr. Rene Garcia for their submission of the Star Award Application. Thanks are especially extended to our sponsors for supporting our programs which have been recognized by this Star Award.

Please see the THECB website for more details, including the Closing the Gaps by 2015 initiative and also current/previous Star Award Winners.


Larry Spears award
Pictured above (left to right): Dr. Larry Spears receiving award from Jerry Farrington, THECB Chairman.


star award group
Above at the Star Awards Ceremony (left to right): Dr. Vicky Estrera; Dr. Scott Slough; Dr. Richard Alo; UHD President, Dr. Max Castillo; Dr. Akif Uzman; Dr. Larry Spears; Mr. Rene Garcia; UHD VP for Academic Affairs and Provost, Dr. Molly Woods; Dr. Weining Feng; and Dr. Jorge Tito-Izquierdo.

Page maintained by Scholars Academy

Last updated or reviewed on 11/11/10

   Click here to print this page

Find us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   Read Skyline   Join us on LinkedIn   News RSS   Events RSS