Skip navigation

About the Department of Social Sciences

The Department of Social Sciences is an interdisciplinary department with courses in eight academic areas: anthropology, history, philosophy, political science, prelaw studies, psychology, and sociology. In addition, we offer core classes in social sciences and a military science program.

Majors

Benefits of a Social Science Degree at UHD

A degree in any of the social sciences prepares students to be viable job candidates, demonstrating flexibility, adaptability, and social intelligence. UHD social science students are positioned for success through:

  • Service Learning. The internship program in the social sciences department focuses on developing real-life skills while serving the Houston population through partnerships with local nonprofit agencies.
  • Exceptional Faculty who are dedicated to scholarly activities which promote ethical, quality, innovative research in their respective fields.
  • Co-curricular Enrichment. At UHD, learning goes beyond the classroom. Campus organizations represent the wide-ranging professional and personal pursuits of social science students. In addition, the department offers lecture series, open forums, and panel discussions led by faculty and other respected researchers.


Drop Down Contacts

Department Chair

Jeffrey Jackson, Ph.D.
N-1009B, (713) 221-2793 JacksonJef@uhd.edu


Degree & Internship Coordinators




History
Theresa Case, Ph.D.
N-1046
(713) 221-8958
caset@uhd.edu

Political Science
David Branham, Ph.D.
N-1066
(713) 221-8208
BranhamD@uhd.edu

Philosophy
Andrew Pavelich, Ph.D.
N-1047
(713) 221-8094
pavelicha@uhd.edu

Psychology
Stephanie Babb, Ph.D.
N-1072
(713) 223-7918
babbs@uhd.edu

Sociology
Joanna Kaftan,Ph.D.
N-1060
713-221-8299
kaftanj@uhd.edu

Internship Coordinator
Psychology
Susan Henney, Ph.D.
N-1043
(713) 221-8163
henneys@uhd.edu

Internship Coordinator
All Other Degrees

David Branham, Ph.D.
N-1066
(713) 221-8208
BranhamD@uhd.edu


Page maintained by CHSS Web

Last updated or reviewed on 8/18/14

   Click here to print this page

Find us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   Read Skyline   Join us on LinkedIn   News RSS   Events RSS